Therapy Unlocked
Therapy Unlocked


Take a break and read all about it.


Unveiling A Compassionate Journey Through the Six Stages of Grief

Grief is a universal human experience, a journey that unfolds in distinct stages, each marked by intense emotions and challenges. When confronted with a devastating loss, individuals often go through a process of grieving, a complex and nuanced journey that renowned grief expert David Kessler has delineated into six stages.  

In this article, we will explore these stages, delve into strategies for coping with grief, and discuss how to provide support to those who are navigating this challenging terrain. 

If you wish to speak to one of Therapy Unlocked’s professional grief therapists instead of reading through the article, please click here.  

Table of Contents

The Six Stages of Grief

Grief is a complex journey marked by various stages, with different models suggesting different sequences. While Elisabeth Kübler-Ross‘s five stages is widely known, we’ve chosen to focus on David Kessler’s six stages for their comprehensive approach.  

Recognizing the non-linear nature of grief, these stages—denial, anger, bargaining, depression, acceptance, and love—offer a nuanced perspective, allowing for a more thorough understanding of the intricate emotions tied to loss. 

  1. Denial
    Denial serves as a protective shield during the initial stage of grief, a psychological defense mechanism that helps individuals cope with the shock and disbelief of their loss. It’s important to understand that withdrawal from life is a common response during this stage.

    The enormity of emotions can be overwhelming, leading individuals to create a temporary barrier as they grapple with the reality of their situation. Recognizing and allowing this withdrawal is a crucial aspect of navigating through the early stages of grief.

  2. Anger
    As denial gradually fades, anger emerges as a natural response to the perceived injustice of the loss. This stage is characterized by frustration and resentment, emotions that demand acknowledgment and expression. The grieving process necessitates the recognition and understanding of anger, as it is a crucial step toward acceptance. 

    By allowing individuals to express their anger, they can begin to move forward on the path to healing.

  3. Bargaining
    In the bargaining stage, individuals often find themselves contemplating “what ifs” and attempting to negotiate with higher powers. This phase is marked by a search for meaning and an earnest attempt to regain control over the uncontrollable.

    Bargaining is a natural and necessary part of the grieving process, providing individuals with a space to grapple with the profound questions that loss brings. Acknowledging the validity of these questions is essential in supporting someone through their journey of grief. 

  4. Depression
    The depression stage is marked by a profound sense of sadness and despair, and grieving individuals may feel overwhelmed by the weight of their emotions. Mental health professionals play a vital role during this stage, offering support and guidance to help individuals navigate through the depths of their sorrow.

    Understanding that depression is a normal part of the grieving process allows for a compassionate approach to providing assistance and encouragement during this challenging phase. 

  5. Acceptance
    Contrary to the common misconception, acceptance in the context of grief is not about forgetting the loss but about learning to live with it. This gradual process involves coming to terms with the reality of the situation and finding a way to move forward.

    While closure after a loss may not always be attainable, acceptance allows individuals to integrate the experience into their lives, fostering resilience and personal growth. 

  6. The Sixth Stage: Love
    The concept of the sixth stage, introduced by David Kessler and Elisabeth Kübler-Ross, emphasizes the importance of remembering those who have died with love rather than focusing solely on the pain of the loss.

    This stage encourages individuals to celebrate the positive memories and connections that endure, highlighting the enduring impact of love even in the face of grief. 

How to Cope with Grief

Coping with grief is a deeply personal journey, uniquely experienced by each individual who has lost someone dear. As we explore strategies to ease the burden of grief, our focus at Therapy Unlocked is on providing understanding and comfort to those navigating the intricate path of healing. 

  • Express Your Emotions 

Allow yourself to feel and express your emotions. Whether through writing, talking to friends, or engaging in creative activities, finding healthy outlets is essential for processing grief. 

  • Create Rituals 

Establishing rituals to remember and honor the person who has passed can provide a sense of structure and comfort, fostering a connection to positive memories. 

  • Connect with Others 

Sharing your feelings with friends or joining a support group can help combat feelings of isolation and provide a sense of community, offering comfort in shared experiences. 

  • Seek Professional Help 

If the grieving process becomes overwhelming, consulting a mental health professional can provide valuable support and guidance. Therapy Unlocked provides in-person individual therapy and teletherapy for those seeking hope during the dark times.  

How to Provide Help to Someone in Grief

Guiding a friend or family member through the challenging journey of grief demands empathy and patience. In this section, we delve into supportive strategies, offering practical ways to extend a helping hand during times of sorrow. 

Be Present: Simply being there for someone in grief, whether through a listening ear or a comforting presence, can make a significant difference. Presence speaks volumes when words may fall short. 

Avoid Judgment: Grieving individuals may experience a range of emotions, and avoiding judgment is crucial. Offer a non-judgmental space for them to express themselves freely without fear of criticism. 

Offer Practical Help: Assist with daily tasks, such as preparing meals or running errands. Practical support can alleviate some of the burdens during this challenging time, allowing the grieving individual to focus on their emotional well-being. 

Encourage Professional Help: Suggesting the assistance of a mental health professional can be a constructive way to support someone in managing their grief. Professional help offers specialized guidance and coping strategies tailored to individual needs. 

We’ve already mentioned individual therapy, but you, in a grief support position, can also suggest group therapy and go along with your loved one to these sessions initially to help guide them to another support structure.  

Contact us at Therapy Unlocked to learn more about Group Therapy 

Conclusion: Nurturing Healing Through Grief

The journey through grief is a profound exploration of intense emotions and transformative stages, necessitating unwavering patience, understanding, and support. While achieving closure after a loss may prove elusive, the process of acceptance empowers individuals to coexist with the pain and discover profound meaning in the memories of those who have departed. 

Seeking professional help becomes a crucial resource in fostering healing and resilience during these challenging times. Therapy Unlocked stands as a beacon of support, with specialists on our team boasting vast experience in grief therapy for individual therapy and guiding group therapy sessions.  

Contact us today, and let’s work together toward the beacon of love and hope that shines bright at the end.


Reach out to us

Never feel alone in the lone-star state again!
Tell us how we can help you ease your journey to living the life you deserve.